Retopoflow 3 - Retopology Toolkit For Blender

by CG Cookie in Scripts and Addons


Item Rating

This item has an average rating of 4 from 114 ratings by the community.

54%
22%
6%
6%
15%
  • Kirill
    almost 3 years ago

    Works like a charm within homely felt Blender. Extremely simple to use.

    • Jonathan Williamson

      almost 3 years ago

      I'm glad to hear you like it Kirill!

  • Pino
    almost 3 years ago

    It was hard to get use to the keybinds at first, but now that I've been using it for a month I can practically retopo anything in a few hours. Amazing tool, keep up the good work!

    • Jonathan Williamson

      almost 3 years ago

      We absolutely aim to improve the keybinding system, eventually allowing full customization and integration with Blender's regular keymap system.

      Thanks for the rating!

  • garthhendy
    almost 3 years ago

    When I bought this add on last year it was quite buggy and it crashed a lot, but I pushed through it since I was making 2 characters, it wasn't a huge issue, and it was the only thing I could use for retopology. But the developers did say at the time a 2.0 version was coming for christmas 2018 so I waited and did other tasks on our game.

    Christmas arrived, but 2.0 wasn't released so I reorganised our schedule to do environment art and level design instead. It wasn't until around July that 2.0 was released, but it ended up be quite frustrating to use.

    About 3 weeks ago I left feedback about the issues I had and waited for a solution https://github.com/CGCookie/retopoflow/issues/643 . Nothing came about, and I couldn't afford to waste more time using Retopoflow, so I had to buy Topogun, (I wasted money buying Retopoflow) which didn't have any problems at all and I was able to finish all of character models without a single crash or bug.

    If anyone is unsure about Retopoflow, buy Topogun instead, it's 14 dollars more, but it's a lot more stable and the functionality is a lot smoother.

    • Jonathan Williamson

      almost 3 years ago

      I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience and our apologies for the delay on your reported issue. That delay is on us and we'll do what we can to make it right.

  • kickers
    almost 3 years ago

    cant change viewpoint. Its very stressful!

    • CG Cookie

      almost 3 years ago

      Hi kickers, please send us a support question via your inbox. We're happy to help resolve problems like this. You can send us a message via https://blendermarket.com/inbox

  • daniel313
    almost 3 years ago

    My score is two stars, for the effort and insight necessary of people who offered their time, knowledge and suffering to get to create something like retopoflow.I admit it, but I am not a satisfied consumer with the support offered. I got two answers that had nothing to do with my problem, send a video. I explained that when activating RETOPOFLOW by pressing scroll to move in the 3D view nothing happened, ... I did not get an answer, after having gone through many states between them ... the helplessness and the maximum frustration when trying everything and not working , I left my project for a week to solve something technical and not having lost $ 86 ... in the end I found the answer (IF RETOPOFLOW V2 IS IN ANOTHER LANGUAGE OTHER THAN THE ENGLISH WILL APPEAR THIS PROBLEM AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO WORK WITH IT, IT WILL WORK PUTING IT IN ENGLISH FROM THE PREFERENCES OF THE SYSTEM) people who do not have blender in English will find the problem, (PLEASE SOLVE IT BUT ABOVE EVERYTHING IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE YOUR DUTY NOT THE CONSUMER'S). Thank you.

    • CG Cookie

      almost 3 years ago

      We're sorry to hear RetopoFlow hasn't been working for you. An issue has been logged to try and solve the language problem; it's a tricky problem but we're hoping to find a solution.

      Regardless I have submitted a full refund for your trouble.

  • Giovanny Arce
    almost 3 years ago

    I'm giving five stars because the work you guys have done to this addon is fantastic. Compared to the old versions the update and improvement have been outstanding. The addon still has minimum glitches like sometimes is hard to select vertices that are under the reference mesh (this means I have to get out of Retopoflow mode and move those vertices out outside to be able to pick them). Another thing is that if your reference mesh is composed of multiple parts overlapping, Retopoflow won't be able to detect it as a whole single object, so tools like Contours won't work as expected. That being said, maybe there are ways to fix this in the settings that I'm not aware. Please keep it up the good work guys, this tool is a dream come true. 10/10

    • CG Cookie

      almost 3 years ago

      Thanks for the rating Giovanny!

      There is an option to Snap Verts to the surface under Target Cleaning, which will let you snap all verts or only the selected verts to the surface. This helps to resolve selection issues that stem from the vertices being below the source surface.

  • hitman17528
    almost 3 years ago

    Needless to say, 5 stars, and extremely stable in version 2.0!

    • Jonathan Williamson

      almost 3 years ago

      Thanks for the rating!

  • Syed Sameer Hasan Rizvi
    almost 3 years ago

    Great tool that speed up my work, but i have to exit the tool to merge two vertices. Would be great if merge was integrated to RetopoFlow.

    • Jonathan Williamson

      almost 3 years ago

      Thanks for the rating Syed! You can merge vertices with the PolyPen tool by dragging one onto the other. There's an option to disable Auto-Merge in the tool settings, but it's on by default.

  • Miguel Salinas
    about 3 years ago

    Version 2.0 is way too slow for professional production work.
    I have an sculpted mesh of 2500000 polys and a retopo i made without tools of 210000 polya and retopoflow consider too high the polygon cont for both meshes. In version 1.3 i can work freely without problems.
    I consider this version 2 a step in UI but a step backwards in usability

    • Jonathan Williamson

      about 3 years ago

      Hey Miguel, please reach out to us via your Inbox so that we can look into your performance problems. RetopoFlow ought to be able to handle that poly count without issue, so long as your machine has adequate specs.

      Please send us a message with your file and we'll try and resolve it for you!

  • Firezac
    about 3 years ago

    Retopoflow is one of the best addons that I have ever used at Blender. It's bring so much to the software, simple functions that I never have seeing in any other open source software. Before ir I uses to use the 3D Coat to make retopologys, but now it's all in Blender and working pretty well. For the first time, my topologys at Blender looks like profissional and are saving so much time.
    If you are a active 3D sculpt artist, you need this tool!

Purchase this item to leave a review!

Sales 7600+
Customer Ratings 114
Average Rating
Dev Fund Contributor
Published almost 7 years ago
Software Version 2.79, 2.8, 2.9
License GPL
Have questions before purchasing?

Contact the Creator with your questions right now.

Login to Message